Independence Day

Independence Day

 

One morning I woke up to the sound of reggae music and people cheering. I crawled out of bed and looked out the window. The only thing I could see was a blur of yellow, green and black. I had to pinch myself to make sure it wasn’t a dream. As I looked out the window my memory started to come back. It was Independence Day!

 

On the street all people had dressed up in clothes in the same colors as the Jamaican flag, dancing feverishly to the beats of Reggae music. Dressed up in my usual slacks and t-shirt I was the one who differed from the crowd. I asked some people what Independence Day was all about. Apparently you watch or participate in parades and eat a lot of food. I also found out some of the biggest Reggae artists had come to Kingston to sing. I was thrilled to hear that! Not only was I going to listen to some great music I was also going to take part of probably the most important day for Jamaicans. This was actually the day that Jamaica became independent from the ruling of Britain.

 

My heart was pumping along music that was coming from down the street, and I made my way through the crowd to see what was going on. A Bob Marley look-alike and his band members was playing loud reggae music at the beach. Almost everyone around me was singing along and danced wildly to the music. I was of course surprised to see people shoving their passion so open heartedly, it’s nothing you see on the streets of Västerås. It was such a wonderful feeling to be a part of that feeling of fellowship.

 

Later on that day a parade took place at Kingston’s main street. Women dressed up in provocative clothes were belly dancing to the rhythm of drums. The show was breathtaking and I wouldn’t have missed it for anything in the world.

 

That night I went to a party which was held at a restaurant. We ate a lot of delicious food, but most important of all, we had a blast!

 

I think it is a shame that Swedes Next Swedish national day I will do it like the Jamaicans, cheer and show I’m proud of being a Swede!

 

Here is a picture I took of the parade!

Picture comes from: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20100807/lead/lead1.html


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0