B'fhearr liom liomanaid. I would prefer lemonade


Then hurrah for an Irish stew
That will stick to your belly like glue.


I honestly didn’t know what to expect when dining in Ireland. I knew that I couldn’t depend on fast food restaurants like Mc Donald’s everyday, because I had to attend some dinner parties, in classic Irish environments. I consider myself lucky to not be here during the oyster festival, because quite frankly oysters scare me a lot. But I’ve run across a lot of seafood, which I’ve been told have recently become very popular to include in their cooking. I don’t speak for everybody in Sweden but from what I know, oysters and seafood (except from fish) isn’t cooked a lot back home.  It’s been hard to get an answer when I’ve asked people about some traditional Irish dishes. They don’t have an Irish version of meatballs or a dish that when you think of Ireland, immediately pops up in your head. But something almost everyone told me was the most Irish thing you could eat is an Irish stue, usually made with lamb. I had never eaten lamb in Sweden, and I’ve been told many times that it tastes like “a cardigan” which means I think, that it’s dry. Now afterwards I can’t really tell you if that’s how lamb tastes, because I’ve never really had a cardigan stew for dinner. But I can say that I really enjoyed the food that I got.

 

It’s very normal to go to pubs in the evenings, and the most famous Irish thing to order is a Guinness beer or Irish coffee. Not that I have tried it for myself, the Irish drinking age is 18 just like in Sweden. But a pub isn’t just a place where you drink. It’s a place where family and friends can meet and relax. I don’t think we have pubs that families go to together, it’s more friends that go together if you’re in your twenties. When families gather together in Sweden it’s more common to get a cup of coffee together.

 

Slainte! (cheers)

 

Evelina


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0