Is maith an scathan suil charad. A friends eye is a good mirror

I’m sad to inform you that I'm now back home in Sweden. I’ve had such a wonderful trip and made some great friends at the same time which made me leaving twice as hard. However, there are some things I have to look forward to! One of them is meeting my fellow bloggers again. We haven’t got the time to get together and share our experiences yet, but of course I’ve read all of their posts. It was interesting to se what differences and similarities exist among the countries. And here’s what I noticed:

 

In Ireland, Jamaica and South Africa, you can’t call people you meet by their first names. But I found it quite out of the ordinary to greet them with their oldest child’s name(plus ma or ra), which Emma told us that they do in South Africa. And just like Erica, it took me a while to get used to not saying peoples first names. But I feel that when everyone is so kind and polite it should be considered friendlier to call people by their first names, like friends do.

Similar to Ireland, South Africa is very proud of their country and its traditions. But they had more new, modern traditions which from what I’ve learned Ireland doesn’t really have. I like the fact that they came to the conclusion that you don’t only have to celebrate things that happened a very long time ago.

 

Australians thanking the bus driver when they go off?! And I thought the Irish people were extremely nice! After reading what Alicia experienced in Australia, I have to confess that the Irish are not even close to being that approachable. How are we going to come back to Sweden and not think that everybody is rude? From what I learned from her blog posts, Aussies aren’t as reluctant to talk about some topics which are really sensitive for an Irishman to discuss. And honestly, me being proud about eating lamb stew (which was, if truth be told really out there for me) didn’t seem that cool at all after reading about her eating things like kangaroo and rattlesnake.

 I found out two main things that Jamaica had in common with Ireland. The first one I noticed was that Jamaica had a similar point of view regarding time. And both I and Erica had at first a hard time understanding it. In addition to that fact, I reacted to that the Jamaican way of celebrating Independence Day is similar to St Patrick ’s Day in Ireland. But in Jamaica it’s bigger, wilder and more like a party. It would certainly have been fun to have seen!

The biggest difference between Ireland and Jamaica according to me was the fact that Jamaican cooks with groceries that they find in the woods. It made me realise that every country isn’t like Ireland or Sweden. Some don’t use as much technology like we do, but they get on fine anyway. It’s possible that they’re even more happy than other.

Evelina


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0